Morocco was granted the status of “Sectoral Dialogue Partner” within the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) on Monday.

The foreign ministers of the ASEAN countries officially approved the move at their meeting in Jakarta, the Moroccan Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

Underlining that Morocco is the first country in North Africa to obtain this status, it said it strengthens the country’s position as a privileged interlocutor in the geopolitically and economically significant group.

The preliminary agreement to grant Morocco the status was announced during the 56th meeting of ASEAN Foreign Ministers in July.

The country can now participate in ASEAN meetings and cooperate in certain sectors. This is often considered the step before full membership.

Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos are members of ASEAN, which was founded in 1967.

Switzerland, Norway, Türkiye, Pakistan, Brazil and the United Arab Emirates are “Sectoral Dialogue Partners” with the ASEAN bloc, which is the third largest economy in Asia.

Source: AA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *